The history of the Porte Royale

We are in 1715, our King Louis XIV is dead.

His great grandson, the future Louis XV is very young to rule.

Philippe d'Orleans assures the regency. And I, René Jacob de Tigné, I remain alone in the maneuver to build this beautiful Porte Royale.

Alas, the state coffers are empty.

Article written by Jean Claude BONNIN

Jean-Claude is the memory of La Rochelle.

A scientific spirit that searches for documentation, studies it, classifies it, draws conclusions from it…

Generous, he shares his knowledge and publishes his studies, gives conferences, guides visits.

jclaude.bonnin@gmail.com

The most ambitious architectural project in La Rochelle

The Royal Door is the most ambitious architectural project of the new fortified enclosure of La Rochelle, whose construction was launched in 1689 under the guidance of Vauban. For the "King's Gate" which opens on the way to Paris, you need an entrance worthy of the most powerful monarch of Europe.

In the immediate future, one prefers to invest in purely defensive works before devoting oneself to a monument that must be, of course, an element of defense, but also a symbol of absolute power.

The construction of the other doors was carried great, but without originality. Only the Porte Dauphine, or "porte du Dauphin de France", completed around 1700, presents an architectural effort. The military engineers treated it with care, but we are still in a style inherited from the reign of Louis XIII.

The marriage of brick and stone is still very much in evidence, but is starting to go out of fashion: the neoclassical has already made its appearance in military architecture, especially in the new constructions of the castle of Vincennes. While waiting for the means of edifying the Porte Royale, and since it is necessary to leave the city to join the way of Paris, one is satisfied with a simple bleeding in the rampart.

It is a long open corridor that goes out to the north and naturally takes the name of Porte de Paris. A colonnaded guardhouse is used to house soldiers nearby. In 1915, during the leveling of the ramparts, we find the remains of this door in the extension of the current avenue des Cordeliers.

Then, we call on Pierre Bullet

For the Royal Door, Pierre Bullet, the architect who signed the Porte Saint-Martin in Paris in 1674, is called in. After this monumental achievement, his project is very different.

He launches the outline in 1696 and the fine until 1706. Inspired by the monumental arches of Rome, he is in line with the architects Le Vaux or Mansart.

The budget is not at the rendezvous. The engineers progressively advance: the front door is built in 1706, opening on the half-moon, advanced work protecting the future monumental door.

This front door is still stamped, like the Porte Dauphine, of the royal sun of Louis XIV. As early as 1708, a soldier allowed himself to leave graffiti in his name.

Peace is good for big jobs

Louis XIV disappeared in 1715, France knows a period of peace that leaves more subsidies to devote to military works. The Porte Royale is finally realized from 1716 to 1724 under the direction of the engineer René-Jacob de Tigné.

But the means are counted: only the monumental door is made, with its annexes, guard house, powder keg, prison and latrines.

The building of the governor's house had been mentioned. Modestly, the engineer stopped on an attic facing the facade countryside side, which will not be realized, and had embarked on an ornamental program with the bust of the king, trophies, a pompous inscription on a large plate of marble, presenting "in a few words part of the history of La Rochelle, and what happened most memorable on his occasion under the Reign of three of our Kings".

The whole thing would have reinforced the exceptional character of the door, but would have required more useful means elsewhere.

The new Porte Royale commissioned

After commissioning the new Porte, the old Porte de Paris is filled and the curtain wall restored.

The "rue de Paris" becomes the "rue de la Porte Murée".

Considered completed, the Porte Royale is no longer the object, therefore, that maintenance work. The door is a military defense structure guarded by soldiers.

The graffiti they left everywhere on the walls identify several regiments garrisoned in La Rochelle, such as Royal-Vaisseaux, the Regiment of the Queen, that of Conti or that of Saar, in the eighteenth century, followed by more recent ones until the beginning of the 20th century.

The Prison Gate

After the wars of Louis XIV, the Regency and the beginning of the reign of Louis XV are a period of peace.

New sounds of weapons are not long in being heard. In 1740, the king embarked on the war of succession of Austria.

English and Dutch having allied with Austria, the conflict also becomes maritime. The frigates of the Royal Navy of the port of Rochefort launch in defense of the coasts and make many catch among the English ships.

We pile up the captured crews in the Lantern tower. As space becomes insufficient, prisoners are imprisoned in the prison of the Porte Royale, then the room of the guard officer is also requisitioned.

The graffiti left by the English sailors cover the walls of their places of detention. Subsequently, they are exchanged for French seamen detained in England.

Some English sailors, sick or wounded, die at the Porte Royale and, as they are Protestants, the religious of Charity bury them in their garden. After the Austrian War of Succession, there are no longer foreign prisoners imprisoned at the Porte Royale.

Abandonment

The fortifications of the city having been decommissioned by the Ministry of War, around 1900, the Royal Gate is handed over by the Military Engineering to the Service des Domaines in 1912, then to the administration of the Beaux-Arts.

At the beginning of the 20th century, and especially after the First World War, horse-drawn traction gave way to motor vehicles, which were becoming more and more numerous and more powerful.

The wooden drawbridge and the width of the door are constraints.

In 1920, a bypass is made by two breakthroughs in the curtain walls, on each side of the door.

The monument is then used for various purposes. During the occupation, the German army set up a telephone exchange.

In 1953, the city of La Rochelle bought the door to the State. Already classified a historic monument in 1909, this quality is extended in 1974 to its front door and the surrounding walls.

The street around the door to the north is then removed, allowing the recovery of the deep moat and clear the bases of the door.

At the end of the 20th century, considered obsolete, the door is decommissioned, squatted and degraded.

Restoration

At the beginning of the 21st century, the state of the masonry becomes worrying and gradually leads the door to ruin. Mr. Jean-Pierre Guémas and a team of enthusiasts, have just completed the restoration of the Porte Maubec on a private basis, they are then considering the rehabilitation of the Porte Royale.

To achieve this, they created with other enthusiasts the association "Les amis de la Porte Royale", to which the city of La Rochelle granted, in 2012, an emphyteutic administrative lease for the restoration works. Once the work is completed, the Porte Royale will once again become a public passage and will be able to host artistic and cultural events.

The magazine

After 5 years of work and activities at the Porte Royale, it was necessary to mark time with a beautiful work that immortalizes our action.

All the friends and actors of this beautiful project have mobilized to write and provide images and archives elements to make this beautiful brochure that allows to place the Royal Door in its past and current history.

A beautiful magazine to discover and browse with pleasure.

L'histoire de la Porte Royale

Nous sommes en 1715, notre roi Louis XIV est mort.

Son arrière petit fils, le futur Louis XV est bien jeune pour gouverner.

Philippe d’Orléans assure la régence. Et moi, René Jacob de Tigné, je reste seul à la manoeuvre pour construire cette belle Porte Royale.

Hélas, les caisses de l’état sont vides.

Article rédigé par Jean Claude BONNIN

Jean-Claude est la mémoire de La Rochelle.

Un esprit scientifique qui recherche les documentations, les étudie, les classe, en tire des conclusions …

Généreux, il partage son savoir et publie ses études, donne des conférences, guide des visites.

jclaude.bonnin@gmail.com

Le projet architectural le plus ambitieux de La Rochelle

La porte royale est le projet architectural le plus ambitieux du programme de la nouvelle enceinte fortifiée de La Rochelle, dont la construction est lancée en 1689 sous les directives de Vauban. Pour la « porte du Roi » qui ouvre sur le chemin de Paris, il faut une entrée digne du plus puissant monarque d’Europe.

Dans l’immédiat, on préfère investir dans les ouvrages purement défensifs avant de se consacrer à un monument qui devra être, certes, un élément de défense, mais également un symbole du pouvoir absolu.

La construction des autres portes a été menée grand train, mais sans originalité. Seule la porte Dauphine, ou «porte du Dauphin de France», achevée vers 1700, présente un effort d’architecture. Les ingénieurs militaires l’ont traitée avec soin, mais nous sommes encore dans un style hérité du règne de Louis XIII.

Le mariage de la brique et de la pierre fait toujours bel effet, mais commence à passer de mode : le néo-classique a déjà fait son apparition dans l’architecture militaire, notamment dans les nouvelles constructions du château de Vincennes. En attendant les moyens d’édifier la porte Royale, et comme il faut bien sortir de la ville pour rejoindre le chemin de Paris, on se contente d’une simple saignée dans le rempart.

C’est un long couloir à ciel ouvert qui sort au nord et prend naturellement l’appellation de Porte de Paris. Un corps de garde à colonnades permet de loger les soldats à proximité. En 1915, lors de l’arasement des remparts, on retrouvera les vestiges de cette porte dans le prolongement de l’actuelle avenue des Cordeliers.

Puis, on fait appel à Pierre Bullet

Pour la Porte Royale, on fait appel à Pierre Bullet, l’architecte qui a signé la porte Saint-Martin, à Paris, en 1674. Postérieur à cette réalisation monumentale, son projet est bien différent.

Il en lance les grandes lignes en 1696 et l’amende jusqu’en 1706. Inspiré des arcs monumentaux de Rome, il s’inscrit dans la lignée des architectes Le Vaux ou Mansart.

Le budget n’est pas au rendez-vous. Les ingénieurs avancent progressivement: l’avant porte est édifiée en 1706, ouvrant sur la demi- lune, ouvrage avancé protégeant la future porte monumentale.

Cette avant-porte est encore timbrée, comme la porte Dauphine, du soleil royal de Louis XIV. Un soldat s’est permis, dès 1708, d’y laisser des graffiti à son nom.

La paix est bénéfique aux grands travaux

Louis XIV disparu en 1715, la France connaît une période de paix qui laisse plus de subsides à consacrer aux ouvrages militaires. La porte Royale est enfin réalisée de 1716 à 1724 sous les directives de l’ingénieur René-Jacob de Tigné.

Mais les moyens sont comptés : seule la porte monumentale est réalisée, avec ses constructions annexes, corps de garde, poudrière, prison et latrines.

On avait évoqué l’édification du logis du gouverneur. Modestement, l’ingénieur s’est arrêté sur un attique coiffant la façade côté campagne, qui ne sera pas réalisé, et s’était lancé dans un programme ornemental avec le buste du roi, des trophées, une pompeuse inscription sur une grande plaque de marbre, présentant « en peu de mots partie de l’histoire de la Rochelle, et ce qui s’est passé de plus mémorable à son occasion sous le Règne de trois de nos Rois ».

Le tout aurait renforcé le caractère exceptionnel de la porte, mais aurait exigé des moyens plus utiles ailleurs.

La nouvelle Porte Royale mise en service

Après la mise en service de la nouvelle porte, l’ancienne porte de Paris est comblée et la courtine rétablie.

La « rue de Paris » devient ainsi la « rue de la Porte Murée ».

Considérée comme achevée, la Porte Royale ne fait plus l’objet, dès lors, que de travaux d’entretien. La porte est un ouvrage de défense militaire gardée par des soldats.

Les graffiti que ceux-ci ont laissés un peu partout sur les murs permettent d’identifier plusieurs des régiments en garnison à la Rochelle, tels le Royal-Vaisseaux, le Régiment de la Reine, celui de Conti ou celui de la Sarre, au XVIIIe siècle, suivis d’autres plus récents jusqu’au début du XXe siècle.

La Porte Prison

Après les guerres de Louis XIV, la Régence et le début du règne de Louis XV sont une période de paix.

De nouveaux bruits d’armes ne tardent pas à se faire entendre. En 1740, le roi se lance dans la guerre de succession d’Autriche.

Anglais et hollandais s’étant alliés à l’Autriche, le conflit devient également maritime. Les frégates de la marine royale du port de Rochefort se lancent à la défense des côtes et font de nombreuses prises parmi les navires anglais.

On entasse les équipages capturés dans la tour de la Lanterne. L’espace devenant insuffisant, des prisonniers sont incarcérés dans la prison de la Porte Royale, puis la chambre de l’officier de garde est également réquisitionnée.

Les graffiti laissés par les matelots anglais couvrent les murs de leurs lieux de détention. Par la suite, ils sont échangés contre des matelots français détenus en Angleterre.

Certains matelots anglais, malades ou blessés, meurent à la Porte Royale et, comme ils sont protestants, les religieux de la Charité les inhument dans leur jardin. Après la Guerre de succession d’Autriche, on ne relève plus de prisonniers étrangers incarcérés à la Porte Royale.

L’abandon

Les fortifications de la ville ayant été déclassées par le Ministère de la Guerre, vers 1900, la Porte Royale est remise par le Génie militaire au Service des Domaines en 1912, puis à l’administration des Beaux-Arts.

Au début du XXe siècle, et surtout après la Première Guerre mondiale, la traction hippomobile fait place aux véhicules à moteur, de plus en plus nombreux et de plus en plus puissants.

Le pont-levis en bois et la largeur de la porte sont des contraintes.

En 1920, un contournement est effectué par deux percées dans les courtines, de chaque côté de la porte.

Le monument sert alors à divers usages. Durant l’Occupation, l’armée allemande y aménage un central téléphonique.

En 1953, la ville de La Rochelle achète la porte à l’État. Déjà classée Monument historique en 1909, cette qualité est étendue en 1974 à son avant-porte et aux remparts avoisinants.

La rue contournant la porte au nord est alors supprimée, permettant le rétablissement en cet endroit de la profonde douve et de dégager les bases de la porte.

À la fin du XXe siècle, jugée vétuste, la porte est désaffectée, squattée et dégradée.

La Restauration

Au début du XXIe siècle, l’état des maçonneries devient préoccupant et conduit progressivement la porte vers la ruine. Monsieur Jean-Pierre Guémas et une équipe de passionnés, viennent d’achever à titre privé la restauration de la Porte Maubec, ils envisagent alors la remise en état de la Porte Royale.

Pour y parvenir, ils créent avec d’autres passionnés l’association « Les amis de la Porte Royale », à laquelle la ville de La Rochelle concède, en 2012, un bail emphytéotique administratif pour les travaux de restauration. Les travaux terminés, la Porte Royale redeviendra passage public et pourra accueillir des manifestations artistiques et culturelles.

Le magazine

Après 5 ans de travaux et d’animations de la Porte Royale il était nécessaire de marquer le temps avec un bel ouvrage qui immortalise notre action.

Tous les amis et acteurs de ce beau projet se sont mobilisés pour écrire et fournir des éléments images et archives pour réaliser cette superbe brochure qui permet de replacer la Porte Royale dans son histoire passée et actuelle.

Un très beau magazine à découvrir et à parcourir avec plaisir.